• messenger
  • Domande e Risposte
  • Contattaci
  • Cerca

SOTOZEN.COM > Archivio > Glossario (Inglese) > five aggregates

Glossario (Inglese)


five aggregates (goun 五蘊)

S. pañca-skanda. A list of five dharmas or factors that make up what is conventionally called the "self." The five are: (1) form (shiki 色, S. rūpa), which is the stuff of the material world as analyzed, for example, into the four great elements of earth, water, fire, and air; (2) feeling (ju 受, S. vedanā), or raw sensory input, which may be pleasant, unpleasant, or neutral; (3) apperception ( 想, S. sajñā), in which raw sensory data is distinguished, named, and correlated according to conceptual criteria; (4) impulses (gyō 行, S. saskāra) that are karmically "formed" (saskāra) or conditioned by actions taken in the past and manifest themselves in the present as intentional or habitual actions and reactions; and (5) consciousness (shiki 識, S. vijñāna), which includes the functions of cognition and imagination.